A New Years Resolution and my very first Snow Day!

Sugar Plum Snowflake

Image by CaptPiper via Flickr

Let’s start with the resolution… I will write on my blog at least once a week. I started this blog with the best of intentions but let my every day responsibilities get in the way. I have been lucky enough to get some ghost blogging opportunities this year so I have actually been blogging, just not for myself so I promise this year to get something on here at least once a week and maybe someone will even read it. Oh and I also need to lose 30 pounds but that resolution (unfortunately) has stayed atop my resolution list for the last five years. But this is the year. I’m doing Zumba and for Christmas I got a shake weight and some other DVDs to instruct me on the best way to shake my ass around and drop the pounds… the shaking has begun, it will happen.

Now for the snow… this is my, let’s say 4th year living in Atlanta (with a move back to FL in the middle) and I have seen it snow here before. Typically we have one, maybe two days of real snow in a year. By real snow I mean something is sticking to the ground and you can see it, not just little flurries that disappear the minute they touch something. And these rare occurrences usually happen somewhere in or around March. Well, its January 10th and we have already had two significant snow falls. In my little Northeast suburb of Atlanta we got five inches! Now five inches may not sound like a lot to our neighbors to the north but Atlanta is not a city built for snow and five inches of the stuff really screws everything up. I did however get to work from home today. Growing up in Florida I never had a snow day. I was 21 years old the first time I saw snow as I stepped out of the airport in New York City. Now in my 30’s I can finally say that I have had a snow day. I even went for a walk in it. As anyone who knows me can attest, I am not a fan of the cold weather so it wasn’t a long walk, but a walk none the less and my neighbor’s kids were outside building a (rather weird-looking) snowman and having a great time, thrilled to be out of school for the day. It’s not supposed to get above freezing for several days so I might get another snow day tomorrow! No  more walking in it though… I’ll be inside with the heat on.

Leave a Reply

